Google’s phishing warnings in Gmail

I’ve been asked about a warning showing up in Gmail that looks like this:

It is part of Google’s anti-phishing campaign to warn Gmail users when an email may not be what it claims. In this case, Public Schoolworks sends out informational emails with Mrs. Penczarski’s name attached to it. Since Gmail hasn’t seen an email from Mrs. Penczarski with the Public Schoolworks email address, Gmail warns you to be careful.

In this particular instance, it is a valid email. Others may not be, so you will need to scrutinize emails when the phishing warning is displayed. Also, be especially wary of clicking on any links or sending a reply. When in doubt, forward me the email and I’ll check it out.

Text issues with sites on the Chromebooks

There has been some issues with text overflowing on web sites into areas they shouldn’t be, like this:

magnification gone wild

This is a per user setting, so it will follow the student from Chromebook to Chromebook. To fix the issue you’ll need to check two things as the student logged in to a Chromebook.

1. Chrome magnification

Look in the address bar, on the right side. Do you see a magnifying class like this:

Chrome url magnification

If there is, hold down the control key and hit 0 (that’s zero). The screen magnification will be reset. You can also click on the magnifying glass and select Reset.

2. Web content resizing

There is a web content setting that will change the font size on all of the pages. To check and/or change the this setting will require a visit to the Chromebook settings. Click on the user icon in the bottom right of the screen and select Settings from the menu.

Chromebook - menu

Scroll down on the settings page until you hit the bottom, then click on Show advanced settings…

Chromebook Settings - Show advanced settings

More settings will show up, scroll down to the Web content section.

Chromebook Settings - Web Content

And double check that font size and page zoom match the settings above.

District master sharing account – team documents

As we become more and more reliant on Google and Google Drive, we start to run the risk of losing documents when staff leave the district or change grade levels/departments. The person who owns the document doesn’t realize that if they trash the document, then they trash it for everyone with whom the document is shared.

Enter shareadmin@kentoncityschools.org

I’ve created an account, shareadmin@kentoncityschools.org. If you are creating documents to share with a group of individuals, you can make shareadmin@kentoncityschools.org the owner, which will make sure the document will always be available. To change ownership, right click on the document and select Share…

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 12.34.52 PM

Then click on Advanced in the bottom right corner.

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 12.35.14 PM

You can now share the document with shareadmin@kentoncityschools.org.

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 12.35.32 PM

After the document is shared, you can then set shareadmin@kentoncityschools.org to be the owner.

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 12.35.47 PM

Drive will then tell you what will change, you can click Ok.

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 12.36.06 PM

Now, even if you trash the document, it will still be available to the other members of the group. When you trash it, Drive will tell you that the document will still be available to the collaborators.

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 12.37.59 PM

Using Twitter for Professional Development

Screencast of presentation:

Coming soon!!

The Google Slides presentation:

Resources:

 

Google Drive updates

Google is going to transition everyone to the new Google Drive in the next couple of months. Afterwhich, you will lose the ability to go back to the old Google Drive.

Google Apps update alerts: An update on the new Google Drive UI:

For Scheduled release customers, the rollout of the new Google Drive UI as the default user experience will occur in early April (currently planned for April 7, as per the release calendar).

In the first half of May at the earliest, we’ll remove the option to return to the old Drive UI via the Settings drop down. At least two weeks before the removal of the option to return to the old Drive UI, we will show a notification in the Drive UI about the upcoming change.

Please note that the new Drive UI does not work with older unsupported browsers prior to and including Chrome 23, Firefox 23, IE9 and Safari 6, so it’s important to upgrade to a supported browser to ensure continued access to Drive.

New Google Drive looks like this:

Screen Shot 2015-04-01 at 8.55.38 AM

Old Google Drive:

Screen Shot 2015-04-01 at 8.56.15 AM