As we become more and more reliant on Google and Google Drive, we start to run the risk of losing documents when staff leave the district or change grade levels/departments. The person who owns the document doesn’t realize that if they trash the document, then they trash it for everyone with whom the document is shared.

Enter shareadmin@kentoncityschools.org

I’ve created an account, shareadmin@kentoncityschools.org. If you are creating documents to share with a group of individuals, you can make shareadmin@kentoncityschools.org the owner, which will make sure the document will always be available. To change ownership, right click on the document and select Share…

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 12.34.52 PM

Then click on Advanced in the bottom right corner.

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 12.35.14 PM

You can now share the document with shareadmin@kentoncityschools.org.

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 12.35.32 PM

After the document is shared, you can then set shareadmin@kentoncityschools.org to be the owner.

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 12.35.47 PM

Drive will then tell you what will change, you can click Ok.

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 12.36.06 PM

Now, even if you trash the document, it will still be available to the other members of the group. When you trash it, Drive will tell you that the document will still be available to the collaborators.

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 12.37.59 PM